The Spring 2017 Knitting and Stitching Show

The Spring Knitting and Stitching show has been taking place in London this week. It’s such a great show – there’s so much to see, do and buy!

p1210602

As soon as I arrived, I saw the beautiful Butterfly Garden created by the Louise Hamilton Knit and Yarn Group. Everything in the garden has either been knitted or crocheted. It was so colourful.

collage-7

Just next to the garden were the entries to this year’s competition and look who I found? Rose, my flower fairy. She looks like she’s settled in nicely with some new friends.

collage-6

As I made my way to the workshop area, I stopped to have a look at the display of quilts by members of the Contemporary Quilt Group of the Quilters’ Guild of GB and NI. These stunning creations were made by some extremely talented artists.

collage-3

There were also inspiring exhibitions from Freddie Robins, The 62 Group of Textile Artists and Celia Pym.

collage-5

Harriet Riddell, a performance mixed media artist, from InStitchYou was creating machine embroidery portraits for people while they sat.

p1210621

I loved this display from the Royal School of Needlework students – interesting use of kitchenware!

p1210622

These 3-D hand-sewn relief portraits by Jess de Wahls were amazing – the photos don’t really do them justice.

collage-8

Sadly I didn’t have time to take part in any of the knitting, sewing, embroidery and quilting drop-in sessions, but I did attend one of the workshops run by Jenni Stuart-Anderson. In the hour-long class we were shown how to make rag rug brooches. I love rag rugging – it’s completely immersive, anyone of any age and skill level can do it and it’s a brilliant stash-buster. I need to put my crochet hook down and get my bodger out again!!!

p1210667

After the workshop, I looked round the exhibitors’ stands – it was nice to see some new ones that I hadn’t seen previously. I was pretty restrained as I do have rather a lot of supplies at home (yes, really) and I didn’t ‘need’ to buy anything. So with some extraordinary self-control, I only came away with two fat quarters from the Stitch Witch (I’m going to make some rag rug sunflowers with them). I also bought a couple of kits to make felt town houses. They are designed to be carrier bag holders but I think they might make cute Christmas tree decorations. I nearly bought some more Stylecraft yarn to crochet another blanket, but a little voice in my head told me to finish the one that I’m currently making. Perhaps I’ll get some at the next show.

p1210683

In the Creative Living Theatre, experts were giving classes throughout the day. It was lovely to see some of the Great British Sewing Bee finalists giving demonstrations.

p1210649

I always come away from the Knitting and Stitching Show with lots of ideas for new projects. It takes place at various locations around the country and I’m already looking forward to the October show at beautiful Alexandra Palace. In the meantime, if you would like to see more photos from the Spring show, please take a look at my Facebook page.

 

 

One thought on “The Spring 2017 Knitting and Stitching Show

Leave a Reply

